Home > Erase All Data on Android

How to Securely Erase All Data on Android Phone or Tablet

"I'm planning to resell my Sony Xperia Z3 on eBay so that I could purchase a new Samsung Galaxy S6 Edge before going to Hawaii for ours honeymoon. But I have used my Z3 for over one year, there are too much of important and personal contents storing in my phone. How do I ensure that they are completely being erased from my mobile before I turn it over to a new owner? If anyone provides me the secure and effective methods, I will be appreciated very much! Please tell me unreservedly!" - Asked from Kathleen.

As the smartphone equivalent to the microcomputer, they plays a very important role in our daily life. We can use our phone to make a telephone calls, send a SMS/MMS, chat with our family and friends, take photos & videos, shopping and so on, therefore, there are too many important data and private information stored in your phone memory.

If you are the fans of iPhone, you may switch your old iPhone to new iPhone at least every half a year or longer time. While, for Android device users, this cycle seems a little too long, because you never know what version of what brand of Android phone will be your next handset. There are so many outstanding and powerful phone you can choose, just like the HTC One M9, Samsung Galaxy S6 Edge, Samsung Galaxy Note 5, BlackBerry Pirv, Sony Xperia Z5, LG V10, Huawei Mate S/Mate 8 and so on, surely, as well as iPhone.

Bought a new device to replace your old Android phone or tablet because it has out of date, and you may want to give rid of your Android device: give it away to your family, friend or partner, planning to donate it to community or charity, resell it as a seconde main, or use it as you old change new chip. No matter where will be the terminus of your Android phone or tablet, you are never willing to leak your personal data to anyone who you know or not. So, it's necessary to erase all content and settings on Android phone or tablet with a secure way before replacing a new one.

It is noteworthy that you have to throw off a deadly idea, you don't expect simple deletion or factory reset can permanent erase all your data from Andriod, they can easily being restored by some Android Data Recovery tool . To fully erase everything on a Android phone or tablet without restore, you need Android Data Ereaer

.

Now, please download a Windows or Mac version of Android Data Ereaer on your computer, and follow our tutorial to completely wipe your Android device.

down-windown-mac

How to Securely Erase All Content & Settings on Android Phone or Tablet

Step 1. Launch the Android Data Ereaer

After installing the program, run Android Data Ereaer on your computer, and you will see the pop-up main interface as below.

Step 2.Enable USB Debugging on Your Android Device

Connect the Android device to PC via its USB cable. At the same time, enable USB debugging on your Android device according to your Android OS version.

1.For Android 2.3 or earlier versions: tap "Settings" > click "Applications" > click "Development" > check "USB debugging".

2.For Android 3.0 to 4.1: tap "Settings "> click "Developer options" > check "USB debugging".

3.For Android 4.2 or later versions: tap "Settings" > click "About Phone" > tap "Build number" for about 7 times until getting the note "You are under developer mode". Go back to "Settings" > click "Developer options" > check "USB debugging".

When your Android device is connected, you can see the window display as the picture below. Click on the "Erase All Data" button. This will help you erase all data on your android permanently and make your device brand new.

Step 3. Erase All Content and Settings on Your Android Device

In the next screen, you need to enter "delete" on the enter box to confirm the order and click on "Erase Now" to move on.

After that, the program will automatically start erasing any data from your device, all your contacts, text messages, photos, videos, call logs, music and other documents will be permanent removed one by one.

Note: Generally speaking, this process will not spend too much of your time, depending on the data storage on the device. Please keep your phone connected during the whole wiping process.

Once done, please follow the instruction on the device and tap "Factory Data Reset" or "Erase All Content" on the device to wipe all system settings.

down-windown-mac

Related Articles

Our Promise
comments powered by Disqus